Mixtures according to GERG-2008

The GERG-2008 equation is valid in the gas phase, in the liquid phase, in the supercritical region and for the vapor-liquid equilibrium (VLE). The entire range of validity regarding the calculation of thermodynamic properties of natural gases, other multi-component mixtures and binary mixtures is divided, as follows, into three different parts. The uncertainty estimations given for the different ranges of validity are based on the representation of experimental data of various thermodynamic properties of binary and multi-component mixtures by the GERG-2008 reference equation of state.

The available components you find below.

The following components are available for AGA 8 and GERG 2008:

Component GERG 2008 AGA 8
Methane
Nitrogen
Carbon dioxide
Ethane
Propane
n-Butane
i-Butane
n-Pentane
i-Pentane
n-Hexane
n-Heptane
n-Octane
n-Nonane
n-Decane
Hydrogen
Oyxgen
Carbon monoxide
Water
Hydrogen sulphur
Helium
Argon

For more information about GERG (European Gas Research Group) see http://www.gerg.eu/.

Normal range of validity

The normal range of validity covers temperatures of 90 K ≤ T ≤ 450 K and pressures of p ≤ 35 MPa.

This range corresponds to the use of the equation in both standard and advanced technical applications using natural gases, e.g. pipeline transport, natural gas storage and processes with liquefied natural gas.

The uncertainty of the equation regarding gas phase density and speed of sound is less than 0.1% in the temperature range from 250 K/270 K to 450 K at pressures up to 35 MPa. This uncertainty is valid for various types of natural gases as well as for many binary and other mixtures consisting of the 18 natural gas components covered by GERG-2008. Furthermore, the GERG-2008 equation represents accurate data of isobaric enthalpy differences of binary and multi-component mixtures to within their experimental uncertainty, which is less than (0.2 – 0.5)%.

In the liquid phase of many binary and multi-component mixtures the uncertainty of the equation with regard to density amounts to approximately less than (0.1 – 0.5)%.

Due to restrictions from the poor data situation, the vapor-liquid phase equilibrium is described with reasonable accuracy. Hence, accurate vapor pressure data of binary and ternary mixtures consisting of the natural gas main components are reproduced by the equation to within their experimental uncertainty, which is approximately (1 – 3)%.

Extended range of validity

The extended range of validity covers temperatures of 60 K ≤ T ≤ 700 K and pressures of p ≤ 70 MPa.

The uncertainty of the equation regarding gas phase density at temperatures and pressures outside the normal range of validity is roughly estimated to be less than (0.2 – 0.5)%.

For certain mixtures, the extended range of validity covers temperatures up to 900 K and pressures up to 100 MPa and more. For example, the equation accurately describes gas phase density data of air within ±(0.1 – 0.2)% at temperatures up to 900 K and pressures up to 100 MPa.

The calculation of properties beyond the extended range of validity

When accepting larger uncertainties, the equation can be reasonably used outside the extended range of validity. For example, data of certain binary mixtures are described within ±1% at pressures up to 300 MPa.

GERG-2008

Die GERG-2008 Gleichung beschreibt Zustandsgrößen im Gasgebiet, in der Flüssigkeit, im überkritischen Zustandsgebiet und im Phasengleichgewicht Gas-Flüssigkeit. Der Gültigkeitsbereich der Gleichung wurde im Hinblick auf die Berechnung thermodynamischer Zustandsgrößen von Erdgasen, anderen Vielkomponenten-Gemischen sowie binären Gemischen, wie folgt, in drei unterschiedliche Bereiche unterteilt. Die Genauigkeitsangaben für die einzelnen Bereiche basieren auf der Qualität der GERG-2008 Referenz-Zustandsgleichung für Erdgase bei der Wiedergabe von Messwerten unterschiedlicher thermodynamischer Zustandsgrößen von binären und Vielkomponenten-Gemischen.

Die verfügbaren Komponenten finden Sie nachfolgend.

Folgende Stoffkomponenten sind für Erdgase nach AGA8 und Gemische nach GERG 2008 verfügbar:
Komponente GERG 2008 AGA 8
Methan
Stickstoff
Kohlendioxid
Ethan
Propan
n-Butan
Isobutan
n-Pentan
Isopentan
n-Hexan
n-Heptan
n-Oktan
n-Nonan
n-Decan
Wasserstoff
Sauerstoff
Kohlenmonoxid
Wasser
Schwefelwasserstoff
Helium
Argon
Weitere Information zu GERG (European Gas Research Group) ist unter http://www.gerg.eu/ zu finden.
Der Standard-Gültigkeitsbereich

Der Standard-Gültigkeitsbereich umfasst Temperaturen von 90 K ≤ T ≤ 450 K und Drücke von p ≤ 35 MPa.

Dieser Bereich entspricht der Verwendung der Gleichung sowohl bei herkömmlichen als auch modernen Anwendungen, z. B. Pipeline-Transport, Erdgasspeicherung und Flüssigerdgas-Einsatz.

Die Gleichung erreicht im Gasgebiet eine sehr hohe Genauigkeit bezüglich der Beschreibung von Dichte und Schallgeschwindigkeit. Die Unsicherheit beträgt weniger als 0,1% im Temperaturbereich von 250 K/270 K bis 450 K bei Drücken bis zu 35 MPa. Diese Angabe gilt sowohl für unterschiedlichste Erdgase als auch für viele binäre und andere Gemische, die aus den 18 von der GERG-2008 berücksichtigten Erdgaskomponenten bestehen. Außerdem werden genaue Messwerte isobarer Enthalpiedifferenzen von binären und Vielkomponenten-Gemischen von der GERG-2008 Gleichung innerhalb der experimentellen Unsicherheit der Messdaten, die weniger als (0,2 – 0,5)% beträgt, wiedergegeben.

Flüssigkeitsdichten von zahlreichen binären und Vielkomponenten-Gemischen werden mit einer Unsicherheit von weniger als (0,1 – 0,5)% beschrieben.

Das Phasengleichgewicht Gas-Flüssigkeit kann nur mit geringerer Genauigkeit erfasst werden, da die schlechtere Datenlage eine genauere Beschreibung verhindert. Genaue Messwerte des Dampfdrucks binärer und ternärer Gemische aus den Erdgashauptkomponenten werden von der Gleichung innerhalb der experimentellen Unsicherheit von (1 – 3)% reproduziert.

Der erweiterte Gültigkeitsbereich

Der erweiterte Gültigkeitsbereich umfasst Temperaturen von 60 K ≤ T ≤ 700 K und Drücke von p ≤ 70 MPa.

Die Unsicherheit der Gleichung in der Beschreibung von Gasdichten bei Temperaturen und Drücken außerhalb des Standard-Gültigkeitsbereiches beträgt weniger als (0,2 – 0,5)%.

Für bestimmte Gemische umfasst der erweiterte Gültigkeitsbereich Temperaturen bis zu 900 K und Drücke bis zu 100 MPa und mehr. Genaue Messwerte von Gasdichten von Luft werden von der Gleichung beispielsweise mit Abweichungen innerhalb von ±(0,1 – 0,2)% bei Temperaturen bis zu 900 K und Drücken bis zu 100 MPa beschrieben.

Die Berechnung von Zustandsgrößen außerhalb des erweiterten Gültigkeitsbereiches

Über den erweiterten Gültigkeitsbereich hinaus ist die GERG-2008 Gleichung auch bis zu höheren Drücken und Temperaturen sinnvoll extrapolierbar. Beispielsweise werden Dichtemesswerte bestimmter binärer Gemische mit Abweichungen innerhalb von ±1% bei Drücken bis zu 300 MPa beschrieben.